Ripple Afghan Finish

This ripple afghan is finished because….

RippleAfghan

….I ran out of yarn :).

This yarn came to me a few years ago when my husband, sister and sons all went to the “Stitch and Pitch” ball game in Toronto with the Blue Jays (sorry – I don’t remember who they were playing against) arranged by several LYS (local yarn stores for the uninitiated). The idea was to knit and enjoy baseball, all at the same time. As a give-away, we all received a Blue Jays tote bag with a package of Bernat Softee Chunky yarn in it, 3 balls of yarn in each package. So you can imagine my delight since the three boys do not knit or crochet :). But what do you do with 6 balls of teal and 6 balls of brown yarn (my sister had the nerve to keep hers :)).

So, I started to crotchet and when I ran out this week, the afghan was done. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not much of a crotcheter (if that’s a word), but there’s something quite liberating about taking a basic pattern (find the ripple directions at Attic24), estimating width and just crotcheting until you run out of yarn and can go no further.

The afghan measures about 70 inches wide by 42 inches long – I didn’t intend for it to be these dimensions and I think they’ll have to turn it so that the ripples run vertically instead of horizontally, but when you’re done, you’re done!

Also finished is the corner cabinet (see the before picture here):

CornerCabinetAfter

There’s something about clean white painted furniture (I really like it, but my husband does not :)). Some of those tea cups on the top shelf came from my grandmother (also a quilter :)) and it’s great to have them out on display (yes, there are more still packed away, but at least there’s a place for them to go now!).

And, it’s Friday again so linking to Crazy Mom Quilts Finish it up Friday!

Happy Friday and happy long weekend (yeh!).

L

This entry was posted in crotchet, finish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

