BrickBreaker Tutorial

BBFull

Well, the long weekend has come and gone and I’m just getting around to posting the tutorial. Better late than never, I guess!

Sewing this quilt top was a very welcome break from the Grandpa project. It’s quick and easy and so simple that I feel like someone else out there might have thought of it before me. I haven’t come across anything like it in my (virtual) travels though, and my inspiration included the BrickBreaker game (if you own a BlackBerry, you’ve probably played this game at least once!), a tile pattern that I saw somewhere out there and the 6 1/2 x 2 1/2 inch “bricks” that I unearthed in my stash several weeks ago. My version is scrappy (and actually oriented sideways in the image above), but I think it would also be very pretty in floral pastels with a white solid.

If you’d like to make this quilt, here’s how you do it….

You will need:

2 yards grey solid (or complimentary solid colour of your choice)

3 yards (approximately) scraps cut into 260 bricks, 6 1/2 x 2 1/2 inches in size
OR
1 jelly roll plus 4 additional strips 2 1/2 x WOF (width of fabric, for the uninitiated :))

Here’s how you put it all together:

Pair your bricks and sew along the long, 6 1/2 inch edge – I like to string piece in batches of about 10 (for instance, I feed 11 pairs through the feed dogs, cut apart the first 10 leaving the 11th in place as the start of the next batch, press the batch of 10 and repeat). Make 130 pairs.

BBStringPiecing

Look at all those pairs! If you are using a jelly roll, just pair two strips that compliment one another, and sew along the long edges.

BBStrips

Sub-cut the strips into 6 1/2 inch lengths (you should get about 6 pairs from each strip set). As with the scrap version, make 130 pairs – you might have a couple of extra pairs if you make them this way.

Now cut 130 grey strips for the ends of each block unit measuring 4 1/2 x 2 1/2 inches. I was able to cut 8 grey strips from each 2 1/2 inch x WOF strip of my solid. If you do the same, you’ll need about 17 strips 2 1/2 inches wide, sub-cut into 4 1/2 inch lengths.

Sew one grey strip to one end of each of your pairs. If your fabric is directional, you may want to decide ahead of time which way you would like to orient the pair – 70 units will have the grey strip at the top, and 60 units will have the grey strip at the bottom. Here are all my units pressed and ready to be sewn into rows!

BBUnitsComplete

Now lay out your units in rows of 13, alternating the grey strip orientation between the top and bottom, beginning and ending with the grey strip at the top. Your quilt top will have 10 rows of 13 units each – colour placement isn’t that important from top to bottom, but you may want to make sure there are no strips that “clash” from left to right where the strips are right against one another. Sew the units into rows and the rows together to complete the top.

Cut 8 strips measuring 3 1/2 inches x WOF from your remaining grey solid. Sew the short, 3 1/2 inch edges together (remove the selvedges first) to make 4 long border strips. Sew one strip to each side of your quilt top, and then one strip to each of the top and bottom.

BBCloseUp

And there you have it! One BrickBreaker quilt, measuring about 57 x 88 inches for a generous twin size or (not as generous) double topper. If you want a quilt top with dimensions different than these, change the width by adding more units to the rows in multiples of two, or more rows to make the top longer.

I only had time to complete the top so I don’t have an image of the finished quilt at this point, but I will definitely add one once I complete it! And if anything in the instructions doesn’t seem clear and you’re trying to make this quilt top, let me know in the comments and I will try to help.

TurkeyS+P

Hope all the Canadians had a very happy turkey day :). And now, back to the Grandpa project…

L

This entry was posted in quilting, sewing, tutorial, wip. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BrickBreaker Tutorial

  1. Margaret says:

    this has worked beautifully, another project to add to my to do list, have a little file I am adding to with a reference back to the blog the project came from.

Leave a Reply

