Another Little Quilt Finish…

… and a block and a WIP – but first the finish!

As I mentioned last time, a co-worker is leaving on maternity leave (today was her last day) and a little quilt was in order. She’s having a girl, so I chose a cheerful pink theme…

JuliasQuiltFront

And here’s the back…

JuliasQuiltBack

As you know from last time, this is my go-to pattern for babies these days (Stacked Coins Baby Quilt from Crazy Mom Quilts). It’s a quick and easy quilt to sew, but quite striking when finished. Another co-worker did a beautiful job of wrapping up the quilt with a teddy bear and various other baby items to give to her, along with a gift certificate. The recipient seemed very pleased – which is always the goal :).

And, this is my finish of the week, so I’m linking up to Finish-it-up-Friday over at Crazy Mom Quilts!

Then last night (when I was supposed to be working on the latest Grandpa quilt :)) I happened across the Classic Meets Modern Quilt Along over at Sew At Home Mummy – so cool! Since I’m always looking for an excuse to do something other than what I’m supposed to be doing, I decided to sew up a January block.

ModernBearPawBlock

I like the grey and think it looks fresh and modern, but it might need a little pop of colour to really make it come alive (hot pink, anyone?). Maybe once the other blocks are completed, colourful sashing strips will pull it all together. I’m going to try to link up my block to the QAL – here’s the link over to the QAL if you’re interested:

Sew at Home Mummy

And here’s what I should have been doing this week :):

GrandpaQuilt7WIP

Poor, sad Grandpa quilt #7. As you can see, only the bottom half has been put together so far, and borders are still needed as well. It’s coming along, though, and I really like the gold sashing around the blocks – I considered switching out for another colour, but I’m glad I went with the gold suggested in the pattern. This one is also from the Scraps and Shirttails II book by Bonnie Hunter – great designs :). Maybe this one will be a finish by next week at this time?

Hope your Friday has been great!

L

This entry was posted in finish, quilting, sewing, The Grandpa Project, wip. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Little Quilt Finish…

  1. Absolutely gorgeous!! Love it!!! Can’t wait to see what you do for February!

  2. Margaret says:

    what a delightful baby quilt and love the new block you have done, do not think I dare pop over and see the BOM for this challenge, have more than enough on my hands at the moment, well maybe I could have a little look!

Leave a Reply

