Baby Quilt Finish #1

Well, I had hoped to finish both baby quilts this week, but I will have to settle for having one finished and the other pinned and ready for quilting.

Here’s the front:

BabyNewbieQuiltFront

And the back:

BabyNewbieQuiltBack

Love the back – it’s the Fennel Green fabric from Morris Apprentice by Barbara Brackman for Moda, and I just happened to have a nice chunk of it available for this quilt (it’s always nice to put something like this in a quilt I can visit – you know what I’m talking about!). As always, the pattern is the Stacked Coins Baby Quilt by CrazyMomQuilts and can be found here.

And I was even able to get outside during daylight hours to take the photos – something that has not happened for couple of weeks :). This baby quilt began a couple of weeks ago and is destined for a little one due in November, gender as yet unknown. I’m hoping the combination of green/orange/gold/grey will work well for either a girl or boy, but I have found that most times the parent recipients are happy regardless of my colour choices.

You also may have noticed the little glass mushrooms in the garden below the quilt. Here’s a closer shot:

GlassMushrooms

These cleaver little objets d’art (jardin) are just glass vases and bowls held together with silicon sealant. This is not my idea – there are a ton of these on Pinterest if you search “glass garden art toadstools.” I used the Empress of Dirt’s instructions for glass totems to put these together. She has lots of ideas for repurposed garden art if you feel like checking out her blog.

And because it’s a Friday and I (finally! – after a number of weeks) have a finish, I’m linking up to Finish-it-up-Friday over at CrazyMomQuilts.

Happy Friday!

L

This entry was posted in finish, garden, quilting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby Quilt Finish #1

  1. very nice, you seem to get so much done in such a short time

Leave a Reply

