Let’s Talk Garden

…because otherwise I don’t have all that much to show for my week! Last weekend I was busy with my motorcycle license (yep – you read that right). In Ontario, we have graduated licensing and as it’s been almost 5 years since I passed my M2 test, it was time to take my M2 exit test to get my full M license. Now I can continue to drive a Vespa indefinitely :).

And I’m probably the only graduate from last weekend whose first thought was – oh great! Now I can go back to sewing! The home dec project is still underway and I think there are only two words for this project – patience and pins.

homedec

I do love that paisley, though, and I’m hoping by this time next week I’ll be able to show you a home dec finish.

And now for the garden!

garden

I love the Square Foot Gardening method and purchased the book last year (the author is Mel Bartholomew). I used to participate in a community garden, which was really nice except that there was a lot of shade on my assigned plot and with having to walk/bike/drive several blocks (I know – it’s a hard life!) I seemed to manage to grow more weeds than anything else. This year, I decided my approach should be to increase my gardening space in my own yard as I don’t seem to have a problem puttering around the yard in the evening, even though I often forgot to take myself over to the plot.

The tomatoes seem happy enough.

tomatoes

And a couple of weeks ago, I came across these head/foot boards on Kijiji (total score!).

head:footboard

After some putting some elbow grease into scraping down with a wire brush, priming with a spray primer and then spray painting a nice fresh lilac, this is what the headboard looks like.

Headboard

I can’t seem to get a picture that shows how nice the purple really is, but trust me – it’s definitely lilac :). And I think it will provide a nice support for any plants that manage to come up once I solve the problem of The Dog running through the garden! I’ll share the footboard once it’s complete as well – maybe if we get some sunshine this weekend.

And the last thing to show for my week is one more (little) mushroom to join the other two from before :).

mushrooms

Not much to show for the week at all :).

Happy gardening!

L

This entry was posted in garden, home dec, sewing, wip. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let’s Talk Garden

  1. like how you have used the bed heads for growing creepers, watch the dog does not decide it is a good bed to sleep on though. I have quite a big garden but apart from some fruit trees it is all shrubs, flowers, grass etc no veg growing. Only have 3 plums on the plum tree, no pears on either pear tree but the 2 apple trees are looking laden and the cherry is doing well but the birds usually get to them before I do.

Leave a Reply

