Blocks and Birds

Home dec is still in progress! So in the meantime, here is the June QAL block.

JuneQALBlock

I apologize for the wonky angle – I was trying to minimize my shadow over the block in the photo. But since it’s a wonky block, maybe it doesn’t make that much difference. I’m sure there’s still time to catch up if you’re interested in the Classic Meets Modern QAL over at Sew at Home Mummy – totally amazed that I’ve managed to make each month’s block so far, and before the end of each month!

And here’s a guy I met on the way to work earlier this week:

Heron

This fellow was hanging out behind our local university in a storm water pond so I had to stop and take his photo – even though I was running a little late that morning (I will have to pedal faster – or leave earlier). He is definitely a Heron – possibly a Great Blue Heron, although my bird identification isn’t the best.

The reason for the Heron sighting is that I try to ride my bike to work whenever possible because I think it’s good for me and good for the environment, and I consider myself very lucky to have the opportunity and ability to do so. I’m also very fortunate to be able to ride mainly on an old rail line that has been turned into a paved bike and walking path through the city, pretty much from one end to the other. I would have taken a photo of the path as well, but unfortunately, it was a little cloudy on the way home tonight and I didn’t think I could get a shot that did it justice. I will update with a view of the trail when I can get a decent picture – sadly the phlox, which was in full bloom along the trail a week ago, has now faded but I’m sure as the summer progresses, another photo op will present itself.

Edited 08/29/14 to add a fall photo of the trail (it does take me a while to get back to these things :)):

IronHorseTrailFall

And that’s all I have for this week, so happy trails to you, too!

L

This entry was posted in quilting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blocks and Birds

  1. wonky block looks good, I plan to do the classic meets modern but so far have just looked! What a beautiful heron and how good to have such a pleasant route to get to work

  2. I am in LOVE with your wonky-ness!! Way to go. The block turned out amazingly – I hope you’re having fun with the QAL!

    • Lois G. says:

      Thanks, Erin! Loving the QAL – appreciate all the work you do to coordinate everything :). Can’t believe that I’m still keeping up with my blocks!

Leave a Reply

