Islington Station Finish

Our local weather girl promised a day of sunshine, but it’s been pretty overcast for much of the day – seems like fall is here already. Don’t get me wrong – I love the cooler weather, harvest time and falling leaves. But after the summer we’ve had, it does seem a little premature…. I was hoping for some bright sunlight for the photos of the finished quilt, but I had to make do with what I could get, especially since I was stitching down the rest of the binding as the sun set.

So here’s the finished quilt!

ISFront

Not too shabby, I think :). I machine quilted in the ditch vertically, using the two centre seams of the bright blocks as a guide (and the ever handy painter’s masking tape), then horizontally using the three centre seams of the neutral blocks as a guide.

Here’s the back:

ISBack

For the back, I used leftover blocks from the front, a big chunk of green found at Mary Maxim on sale and some pink leftover from (several) other projects, patched together to come up with enough length and width to finish up. If you missed the tutorial last week, you can find it here.

ISonBed

The finished quilt measures in at a generous twin, or double topper size.

I know I linked the finished tutorial up with Finish-it-up-Friday last week over at CrazyMomQuilts, but now that the quilt is finished, I’m linking it up again :).

Happy Fall Friday!

L

This entry was posted in finish, quilting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

