Dr. Who?

The knitting is finished!

WhoScarves2

This is a good thing since these scarves will be part of a Dr. Who themed gift for Son P and DIL-M – and they are the first to admit that they are Dr. Who geeks :). Granted, it’s risky putting these pictures up just before Christmas, but given their busy schedules I don’t think they will spy these photos before they open their gift on or shortly after Christmas Day so I’m taking a chance and sharing them with you today.

Here’s another view of the full length of these scarves – and they are looooooong!

WhoScarves1

The scarf on the left is arranged with cast on at the top of the pic and cast off at the bottom; the scarf on the right is arranged with the opposite orientation (please ignore the dead plant that fell off the porch ledge on a recent windy day :)). I followed the free pattern by Tara Wheeler that I linked to from the Ravelry site, but instead of using the Cascade 220 yarn suggested, I used Paton’s Decor in similar(ish) colours because that’s what I had.

To get an idea of just how long the scarves are, here is The (6-foot tall) Husband with one looped around his neck.

WhoScarf

The pattern suggests adding tassels on each end, but I was afraid that adding them would take these fun scarves beyond amusing into the realm of the ridiculous since DIL-M is no taller than I am at 5’4″.

I’m also quite pleased with the other parts of this gift!

WhoTerrarium1

The terrarium itself was made by a friend who does stained glass; the Dr. Who figures and tardis (what Who fan doesn’t need a tardis?) were found at Go!Games back in November when we were on the shopping trip; and, the air plant is from a local florist. I had to put everything together with gravel and stones from Michael’s to create a base, but I’m really happy with the way it turned out – it looks just the way I envisioned it and that doesn’t happen all that often!

WhoTerrarium3

To complete the gift, we found a Dr. Who trivia game (also Go!Games) to go along with everything else – here’s the complete gift all ready for wrapping.

WhoGift

It’s been a while since I’ve had a finish, but this is good time for one – I can’t believe by this time next week, Christmas will have come and gone. Linking up to Finish-it-up-Friday over at CrazyMomQuilts.

Now, back to the sewing room to finish up one last gift :)!

Happy Holidays to you all!

L

This entry was posted in finish, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dr. Who?

  1. Kat says:

    I can’t think of a better gift for Doctor Who fans! I’m sure they will be thrilled.

Leave a Reply

