What’s Your Bag?

Around here it’s the Professional Bag …again :).

ProfessionalBagLora1

This one is/was for sister number one for Christmas and she is already using it! Here’s the inside.

ProfessionalBagLora2

The bag was not a surprise – in fact, the sister has really wanted one of these bags for a while so I asked for her name for the family gift exchange and she picked out this fabric on the shopping trip. I’m just happy that I was able to finish it in time for Christmas Eve – there was a moment of panic when I was unable to find the pattern, but all was resolved when it turned up. This design is from the Creative Thimble and it’s a great pattern with easy to follow instructions – I think this is the fifth one I’ve made for various family members (and one for myself :))

Also finished this week is the December QAL block!

DecemberQALBlock

The Classic Meets Modern QAL has been a great experience and I’m so pleased that I’ve been able to keep up and complete each month’s block throughout this year. The instructions have always been clear and easy to follow – and now that the year is coming to an end, Erin at SewAtHomeMummy, just like with each of the 12 blocks, has provided two different arrangements for completing the top. Here’s the setting I’ve chosen!

QALQuiltTop

It was a happy coincidence that there was a ton of leftover fabric from the professional bag for the cornerstones in this arrangement. And I usually have some white fabric hanging around for projects as they arise, so it just made sense to go with the classic setting for the blocks (although I did love the modern arrangement, too! I just would have had to purchase more fabric to complete the top).

Sister number one is the queen of grey (as you can tell from her fabric selection above) and she might just be the recipient of this quilt now that it’s almost complete (word is there might be a trade for a lace infinity scarf :)). One thing I will need to go out and purchase is some nice soft, plush fabric for the back – hmmmm….maybe grey? We’ll see, but hopefully the quilt will be finished by next week – the first finish of 2015!

And speaking of 2015, I’m going to need a new QAL to follow in the New Year, so if you know of one going on, let me know!

Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas season – happy Boxing Day!

L

This entry was posted in finish, quilting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s Your Bag?

  1. GORGEOUS! I am in love with it!

Leave a Reply

