Welcome 2015!

And what better way to begin the year than with a finish :)!

Here is the completed Classic Meets Modern QAL quilt:

QALFinishFront

I chose to put a very soft and cuddly fleece on the back:

QALFinishBack

This is the same cabbage rose fleece that I used on the back of the little polo shirt quilt, only in pink. I have to put this fleece on the back of something that I’m keeping for myself at some point – it’s really soft! The quilting is minimal so as not to reduce the softness – I’ve found that with fleece, if I sew too many quilting lines the effect is to compress the fluffy softness of the fabric. The blocks are quilted diagonally through their centres, with a couple of vertical and horizontal lines thrown in for stability.

QALFinishBack2

I know I’ve said it before, but I’ve really enjoyed the QAL and hope to find another for 2015! My thanks go out to Erin at Sew At Home Mummy for hosting the 2014 QAL and providing all the great instructions every month – linking up the finished quilt :).

With the holidays and a little extra time for sewing, also finished this week is a colourful little table runner that I’ve been meaning to make for some time.

TableRunnerFront

I did sew this runner up about a couple of years ago and then ended up gifting it to A-DIL-M and Son P. That version didn’t appear here, but it was also very cute.

TableRunnerBack

The backing fabric doesn’t look “perfect” with the red binding, but I do like this material and I think the end effect isn’t too bad. The instructions for this runner can be found over at Diary of a Quilter and since her post is from back in 2010, I can see that I’ve probably had it bookmarked for some time!

TableRunnerScene

Isn’t that a cute winter home for a little snowman? And that’s two finishes for the first Finish-it-up-Friday of 2015 over at CrazyMomQuilts!

And now for a quick 2014 recap! The goals this year were to:

“Post every week – even if it’s just to share my WIPs.” – Done! I have posted every Friday this year, with only one exception early-summer when I was away at a conference and subject to a less than reliable wifi connection (and that week I posted Saturday :)).

“Create at least another two tutorials to share.” – Also done! Lunenburg Log Cabins was complete in May and Islington Station Eastbound was complete in September.

“Keep the momentum going and complete at least another 8 quilts in 2014.” – A quick count results in 12 quilt finishes and several other finished items including bags, bears and scarves!

“And, get that sewing room organized!” – Well, you can’t have them all :). But it is better and I’m happy to report that I actually am sewing in the sewing room these days and have been for a while. I’ll be sure to share the before and after once the organization is complete – hopefully before this time next year!!!

And goals for 2015?

More of the same :).

Wishing you the best in 2015!

L

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome 2015!

  1. This is SO pretty! I love it!!!

Leave a Reply

