More Pillowcases

Some small finishes here this week – but first a celebration! This is my one-hundredth post! I know – I can’t believe it either :). As you know, I’m not a professional blogger, and there are no sponsors here. But it does seem appropriate to have a give-away on an occasion such as this. So here’s what I’m offering:

CharmGiveaway

A charm pack of 44 – 5-inch squares from the stash. There is no theme here – some of these squares are from fabric acquired a long time ago, some more recent; a few of these are from a charm pack, most are cut from fat quarters and yardage; and a couple are repeated, but most are unique. I’ve done my best to cut accurately and on the straight of the grain. I can guarantee these fabrics are from a smoke-free home – but not a pet-free one, so if you have allergies you’ll have to take that into account (not that they are covered in dog hair or anything, but in the interest of full disclosure…).

CharmGiveaway2

So here’s the deal – leave a comment before next Friday and tell me what you would do with these if they were yours. No geographical restrictions – I’ll mail them to you where-ever you happen to be. If there are only a few comments, I’ll throw the numbers in a hat and have The Husband draw one; if there are many comments, I’ll figure out the random number generator thingy that is so popular and use that to determine a winner; and, no relatives will be allowed to enter (unless there are no comments at all 😦 and then one of the lurkers will get charm pack). As I will be travelling again for work this coming week, you’ll have the entire week to leave a comment before I determine a winner.

(01/31/15 – Edited to add: the give-away is now closed! Congratulations go to Shelly who won the squares in a random draw :).) 

Now, on to the finishes for the week!

SheepPillowCases

First up are – pillowcases! I love this sheep patterned flannel and, inspired by the pillowcases for grandkids last week, I decided to make a couple of fun pillowcases for myself.

SheepPillowCases2

These make me smile :). For these pillowcases, and the ones from last week, I used French seams. I really like doing seams this way, especially for something like a pillowcase, as it gives a really nice finish. No photo of the seams (sorry) but if you’re not familiar with the technique, you should check it out. I’m not sure where I first read about French seams, but a quick Google search comes up with many tutorials, like this one at Tilly and the Buttons. For the pillowcases, I used smaller seams than she suggests – 1/8th of an inch for the first seam and 1/4 inch for the second – but the technique is exactly the same. The French seams have also made me think about the fact that I tend to use the same techniques again and again. It makes sense in a way, because everyone is comfortable with their tried and true methods of doing things. But it’s also good to stretch once in a while and try something new – so I will have to seek out some new things to try over the next few months!

Also finished is a little pillow for Sister #1 to match the quilt-along quilt from a couple of weeks ago. It’s also made of that same soft, rose chenille fabric from the backing and should help make a nice, snuggly spot for an weekend afternoon nap (you know what I’m talking about!). Even The Dog’s Friend thinks it’s a good idea.

PillowForLora

And those are the finishes for this week, so I’m linking up to Finish-it-up-Friday over at CrazyMomQuilts. I’ve made progress on the string blocks, too, but I’ll show you more of those on Monday (if I have a wifi connection – otherwise, it might be next week :)).

Have a great weekend!

L

This entry was posted in finish, home dec, quilting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to More Pillowcases

  1. Oh I love that sheep fabric that you used for your pillowcases. You’re certain to have lovely dreams sleeping on those.

  2. Sandy says:

    If you can’t sleep, you can count the pillowcase sheep! Congratulations on post 100! I love making scrap quilts, so if I won the squares they’d end up jumbled in the next one I make.

  3. Kate says:

    Love your pillowcases – sheep are the perfect choice!

  4. Laura says:

    If the charms were mine, they would end up in one of my scrap quilts.

  5. JoanG says:

    Pillowcases are on my list of things to make this year. I have some fabric I really don’t want to cut small, so pillowcases would let it shine. If I were lucky enough to win your charm squares, I’d used them for the beginning of a clamshell quilt. I just found a template that will make charm square sized clams! Congrats on the hundredth post. I am so glad there are bloggers out there to keep us all inspired.

  6. Michelle says:

    Congratulations on your 100th post. I just found your blog and had fun reading back. if I won, your squares would become part of a picnic quilt that I will be starting soon. I got some laminate fabric for a really good price from Ikea. Congratulations to whoever wins and it is very generous of you to offer this when you aren’t sponsored.

  7. Heather in California says:

    Congrats on your 100th post! I would love to make a scrappy quilt. I currently sleep under a four-patch and red block scrappy quilt that I love so much. I would love to make one of my own with my own spin on it. Thanks for the chance to win!

  8. Nancy M says:

    Love making pillowcases. If I were to win the charms they would come to live with my very abundant stash – and go into the scrap quilts I love to make.

  9. Shelly says:

    Isn’t it fun to make something quick and snappy, like pillowcases? Love those sheep!:)

Leave a Reply

