A Day Late

…but I think worth the wait (not to mention a couple of better daylight photos :)).

This is the way the string blocks looked last Sunday just before leaving on the latest work trip.

StringQuiltInProgress

And as of this afternoon, they are a complete top!

StringQuiltTop2

I really like this little quilt top and once I got going on the string blocks, it came together fairly quickly. The original pattern from over at Quiltville suggested 5 inch outer borders, but I had less than a yard of the blue/gold paisley I used here, a sale find last summer, so I decided to cut the outer borders at 3 1/2 inches wide. Using up what I had on hand seemed more in the spirit of the string quilt than going out and buying more fabric.

Here’s a different view (yes – that’s a lot of snow under that quilt top :)):

StringQuiltTop1

I think that with the leftover lion flannel (to match the pillowcase from a couple of weeks ago) on the back, it will make a very nice little quilt for Grandson L. who has a birthday coming up in March. I can only hope that he doesn’t think there is too much pink in the mix.

With the day off for the Family Day holiday on Monday, maybe by this time next week it will be a finish! In the meantime, I’m linking up with Scraps Monday over at A Quilting Life.

Happy Valentines Day!

L

This entry was posted in quilting, sewing, wip. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Day Late

  1. A beautiful project! I hope it goes down well with your grandson! What a wonderful way to use up some leftover bits and pieces from in your stash!

  2. Sherri says:

    I just love this! I really need to get my string blocks sewn into a finished quilt top! Thanks so much for linking up!

Leave a Reply

