Metro Hipster Bag

This week’s finish is the Metro Hipster Bag – the pattern (by Betz White – hopefully I’ve remembered/spelled that correctly!) was a find from the Wisconsin trip last summer, and the material from the fall shopping trip. I’m quite pleased with the results!

MetroHipster1

I love the blue leaf print in the main body of the bag, and while it’s not a perfect match to the solid blue duck cloth, I think the overall effect is not too bad.

The pattern was fairly easy to follow and the instructions were clear with one exception – I had some trouble figuring out how the zipper was to be inserted, because it’s a bit different than the way I’ve done them before. I had to do some ripping out a couple of times before I figured out what was meant by the instructions here, so some extra diagrams might have been helpful (or maybe I didn’t have my thinking cap on that day?). Overall though, the bag was fairly straightforward to put together.

MetroHipster2

The inside is simple, with only the one extra cushioned pocket intended to safely carry an iPad. I don’t know about you, but I have a lot of trouble finding things in bags with dark coloured interiors – and that seems to describe most of the bags commercially available. So I chose to line the interior of my bag with this lighter beige – it might get dirty, but at least I’ll be able to see everything!

MetroHipster3

My only disappointment is that I may not have entirely caught the front flap piece in the seam :(. This may have happened because of the number of layers involved, but I’m usually more careful than this and of course I didn’t notice the issue until after the bag was finished. I’ve decided to wait and see how it wears, but if it’s looking worse after using the bag for a few weeks, I may have to open the side seam and try to reverse engineer to fix it….

MetroHipster4

I’ll have to see how I like this bag over the next couple of weeks, but I’m already thinking about another one in a different colour way. I have A LOT of trouble finding bags that I like, especially cross-body bags like this one, in colours that aren’t the standard black and brown all the time. So overall, pretty pleased with this finish!

Now I just have to transfer all the stuff I carry around over to the new bag…..

Happy Friday!

L

This entry was posted in finish, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

