In the works…

I apologize for the late post, but I’m coming off another busy week of travel and this is the first I’ve been able to capture any photos and sit down to write. Also because of travel, it’s WIPs this week and no finish to share, but some weeks are definitely like that around here:).

First, a new knitting project that’s travelling along with me:

NewAfghan

It looks simple, and in fact, the directions are rated for an experienced beginner (I would say I meet that or more!) and it still took three attempts before getting this much complete. The pattern has you knitting in the round, but some rows are turned so you’re knitting back and forth on the same stitches and some rows continue around in a circle.

Confusing to say the least, and when I knit it’s usually because I want something mindless to do that keeps my hands busy while “watching” tv not because I want to focus on something. My biggest hang up was, if you turn the work you’re going to have a bit of a gap – until I reread the directions and discovered that I was supposed to wrap the last stitch on the turn rows to make sure those gaps didn’t happen. Proof once again that you should always read your instructions thoroughly before starting!

Also on deck are these nice blocks:

QuiltAsYouGoBlocks1

I’m trying out the Quilt As-You-Go Made Modern method from Quilting in the Rain‘s Jera Brandvig. I purchased the book a couple of months ago with a gift card I was given over the holidays and I could hardly wait to begin. Luckily, I was also given a set of precut strips as a Christmas gift so I’ve combined the two to start creating these blocks. They are not quilted (I’ve chosen to sew all of the blocks first) or trimmed to size yet, but I’m about a third of the way to having enough blocks for the quilt that I’m working on.

And here’s another view of those blocks, just to prove that spring is coming to Southern Ontario (yes, that is grass showing under that tree in the background there!).

QuiltAsYouGoBlocks2

And now, back to the sewing room (oh how I’ve missed it :)).

Hope you all have a great weekend!

L

This entry was posted in knitting, quilting, sewing, wip. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

