Coming Soon

Well, I thought I would get a lot more sewing done today, but between cooking and cleaning for a family dinner tomorrow, it didn’t happen. On the other hand, there will be a lot of yummy things for dinner!

PumpkinBars

I love pumpkin pie, but I can certainly do without all of the extra calories from pastry, so I was very happy to discover this recipe for pumpkin pie bars using ginger snaps to make the crust. You can find the recipe here if you would like to make them :).

I had hoped to finish the rag rug that I’ve been working on for some time – but it takes a LOT of scraps to get to a fairly good size, so it might still be a while yet. And the Quilt-As-You-Go blocks are also still in progress. Running out of thread didn’t help and with the Good Friday holiday most retail businesses are closed, so there was no way to continue today. So instead, I will give you a peak at one block from an upcoming project.

The pattern, Urban Cabin, is from the book Modern Designs for Classic Quilts and I really like the way the authors have re-interpreted the Log Cabin block.

BookCover

The instructions call for 16 blocks – 15 set in 5 rows of 3 blocks each with one left-over for the back. This size is a little odd for any of the beds that live in my house, so I decided to make 20 blocks total and set them in 5 rows of 4 blocks each. This size should work well with a double size mattress (although I’m debating whether to go back and cut enough fabric to make one extra block for a pillow). Their version was done with white and grey – I decided that I liked white and a warm beige better with the focus print fabric I found for the centre of the blocks.

ModernLogCabinBlock

You can tell the block is huge – 19-inches square when complete (I haven’t squared my block up yet – please don’t judge :)). The nice thing about big blocks is that you sure don’t need many to make a quilt top!

So, I seem to have many projects in progress right now (not an unusual situation) but starting sometime in the near future, I should be able to share many finishes with you as well.

Hoping you all have a wonderful Easter/Passover weekend!

L

This entry was posted in quilting, sewing, wip. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

