Progress

Well, I’m not exactly sure when the scrappy strips and flowers became the focus project since I was only working on them to give myself a break from the Quilt-As-You-Go blocks, but somehow that’s what happened. Not that there’s anything wrong with that – especially when I ended up with the finished quilt top I showed you last time. But now it’s time to turn back to those QAYG blocks!

You’ll recall that the outer strips were completed with straight lines of quilting approximately one-half inch apart (there was some “eye-balling” involved here :)) and I saved the centre, yellow strips for some free motion quilting practice. Am I ever glad I did!

QAYGBlocksFinished

So, just one block above, but all of the blocks are finished and waiting for trimming and sewing into the final quilt top. If you want to practice your FMQ, these Quilt-As-You-Go blocks are definitely the way to go. I’m usually okay if I can get my hands in the right place and establish a rhythm, but the small size of the blocks definitely helps, too. I also have a tendency to speed up in the straight-aways and slow down in the curves and this seems to be exactly opposite to the way that you would want to go to have nice even stitches – but I’m working on it. For now, I really like the way the loopy stitching in the centre strips turned out.

Stay tuned – more to come soon on this one (as soon as I track down a reasonably priced 9 1/2-inch square ruler to trim the blocks – hello, Joann’s!).

In the meantime, I’m thinking about what to do with these lovelies :).

CharmAndCandySquares

And is it ever nice to see that spring is making an appearance after all!

SpringFlowers

Hope it’s spring where you are, too!

L

This entry was posted in quilting, sewing, wip. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

