Long Weekends, the Trail and Lateness

It’s too late for Finish-it-up-Friday over at CrazyMomQuilts, but even though it’s Saturday I thought I would still share this week’s finish.

DSC_0060

I mentioned a couple of weeks ago there are 5 babies expected by coworkers this summer and this is the first of the 5 baby quilts for these little ones.

And here’s the back:

DSC_0063

The red polka dot (Love by Amy Butler for Rowan) was a deal at a local quilt shop and with just over a metre on the bolt, exactly the right amount to finish off the backing and binding for this little quilt.

Work is still ongoing with the Grandma quilt and my excuse for the lateness is that I ran out of white background fabric. Most of the top is complete except for the pieced borders – I’ll be working on those this week and hope to make some progress.

I also didn’t spend as much time sewing on the long weekend as I had thought I might (more excuses :)). Here’s how I spent part of my long weekend (among other things like babysitting, grooming The Dog’s Friend and gardening).

Saturday 9am:

IMG_0719.JPG

Saturday 3pm:

IMG_0720.JPG

(Not my fence project: The Sister’s. She was going for zen and I think she achieved it with her unique design.)

And last, but not least, you might remember that two summers ago, I made an effort to commute to work by bike rather than drive the car. My theory is that it’s good for me and the environment, but at just over 12km, it’s a bit of a ride. I didn’t get any riding time in last summer because of work travel, but that seems to have slowed a little for now so I’ve dusted off the bike, pumped up the tires and I’m back on the trail.

IMG_0724

One of the things I enjoy most about the ride is being able to enjoy the flowers, birds and urban wildlife that I wouldn’t otherwise get a chance to see on the way to work. I’m not sure how obvious it is in this photo, but this yard is a sea of blue Forget-Me-Nots (my favorite flower) – they won’t last much longer here as we move into June so I tried to grab the view.

Happy trails to you, too!

L

 

 

This entry was posted in finish, quilting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

