First Grandma Finish!

It’s been weeks and weeks longer than I’d hoped, but the first Grandma quilt is finally complete.

DSC_0169

Grandma’s favourite colour was purple, although in the spring sunlight it looks oddly pink :). I worried that the variegated thread used for free motion quilting made things a little busy, but I was too far along to change my mind. Overall I don’t think it’s too bad, but in hindsight I might have preferred a solid thread to match the background instead.

DSC_0167

It occurred to me as I began this project that I didn’t really tell too much of Grandpa’s story as I completed the Grandpa project, so I thought I would try to correct that oversight and give a small picture of Grandma’s life, along with the meaning of the quilt choices, as the Grandma Project progresses.

This pattern is the bonus quilt from the Great Granny Squared book by Lori Holt, using a block called the Mama block. Since the meaning behind this choice should be somewhat self-evident, I’ll set the stage with a little background information.

DSC_0034[1]

Grandma was born in February of 1923 on a farm in rural Southern Ontario. She grew up with four brothers as the only girl in a family of five and was mother to two boys; this lack of female companionship meant that when her first grandchild was a girl, she was delighted beyond words :).

Grandma often told stories about the farm pre-electricity and pre-automobiles, a life that few of us can imagine today. Yet she was a life-long learner and remained current,  even taking courses to learn how to use a computer in her late 80’s and enthusiastically staying in touch with family by email.

DSC_0170

I was lucky enough to find some pretty coordinating fabrics for the back in the half-priced bin at a LQS and liked the dot so much, I decided to use it for the binding as well.

So the first of several quilts to come in the Grandma Project – and finally a finish to link up with Finish-it-up-Friday over at Crazy Mom Quilts.

Happy Spring Friday!

L

This entry was posted in finish, quilting, sewing, The Grandma Project. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Grandma Finish!

  1. Wow well done it looks wonderful

  2. Janie Kemp says:

    That’s really pretty!

  3. Cathy Tomm says:

    Great looking quilt and it is finished!

Leave a Reply

